Wirth M. Munroe Yacht Race History

The Wirth M. Munroe Memorial Yacht Race is held on the first Friday in December. First sailed in 1957, the race begins the winter ocean racing circuit in South Florida. The course, from Ft. Lauderdale to Palm Beach, presents challenging conditions as yachts must consider the vagaries of the Gulf Stream and the passing of the season’s first frontal systems.

In 1957, members of the Florida Station of the Cruising Club of America, led by Dick Bertram, decided to sponsor a race from Miami to Palm Beach and to hold it in early December as racing yachts from the north had arrived by then in preparation for the Southern Ocean Racing Conference held in January and February. Over the years, yachts have raced under numerous rating rules, CCA, IOR, IMS, and now sail in three classes, IRC, PHRF, and Multihull. The original course was shortened started in Ft. Lauderdale to allow the yachts to finish before dark. In the 1960’s the Sailfish Club of Florida became a co-sponsor of the race and hosts the well known awards party following the finish. In 2016 the Club paired with the Storm Trysail Club and decided to extend the course back to Miami.

The 61st Annual Wirth M. Munroe Yacht Race from Miami to Palm Beach will be held Friday, December 1, 2017. The race begins off of Government Cut in Miami and ends just outside of the Lake Worth inlet in Palm Beach, Florida. After the race, participants are invited back to the Sailfish Club for the awards ceremony. 

61st Annual Wirth Munroe Race 

You may enter the race by signing up online at www.yachtscoring.com. For more information, please contact Sarah Gay at (561) 844-0206 or e-mail her HERE.